Restrict access to initiatives
With initiative access control, Manager users can define who can view, access, and edit initiatives and related opportunities. This ensures that the right information is shared with the appropriate stakeholders while maintaining data security and confidentiality.
Overview
Plan availability: Essential/Advanced
Required user role: Manager and if you're one of the initiative's allowed users
In Deal, each initiative can have different levels of visibility (private/public) and access (owner/simple access) based on how it is configured.
Access can be granted to individual users or groups of users defined in the Deal Administration page. Please reach out to your Customer Success Manager to create and manage your access groups.
Visibility levels
An initiative, and all the opportunities contained in it, can be:
- Public: Visible to all users of your Deal platform.
- Private: Only visible to the initiative's owner(s) and the users or groups who were allowed access.
Access roles
- Owner: The user can edit the initiative, access the opportunities (if they're not private), and change the access roles and ownership.
- Default assignee + Owner: The user has the same rights as the Owner. The difference is that this user will receive ownership of the opportunities created by Contributors users.
- Can access: The user can see the initiative and the opportunities.
You can make an initiative private only after you create it, as it's always set as public at first. The initiatives that you create during an import are also set as public by default.
Members of selected access groups can only be granted Can access.
Set single-owner initiatives as private
If you're the only owner of the initiative, to restrict access to the initiative:
- Click the Manage access button at the top right of the initiative page.
- A pop-up will open. Click Make private.
- If different users own opportunities in the initiative, a message will appear to grant them access to the initiative, so they can still access their own opportunities, or to reassign their ownership to the initiative owner.
- A message will appear asking for your confirmation.
- Once the initiative is private the following message appears, and a red lock icon appears next to the initiative name:
- Click Make Public to reverse the action and have the initiative public and available to all users again.
Set multi-owner initiatives as private
Add authorized users to an existing private initiative
To allow users access to a restricted initiative, first, click the Manage access button at the top right of the initiative page. Then, enter the name of the user or the access groups you want to add to the initiative; a list will be displayed. Select the user or group and click Add.
Then, you can choose to give limited rights to the newly added user. Select Can access, the users will only be able to access the initiative and the opportunities associated with it, but they won't be able to manage the initiative.
Switch an existing public initiative with multi-owners to private
When updating an existing public initiative to private status, make sure that the owners of the opportunities associated with the initiative won't lose access to them.
For each opportunity owner, you can:
- Give access to the initiative, by adding the opportunity owner to the initiative owners.
- Reassign the opportunities in bulk to one of the existing initiative owners.